Thinking of buying a FlightAware Pro Stick Plus and connecting to VRS

Are you having trouble getting Virtual Radar Server installed and running? If so then this is the place to ask about it.
xristostra86
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 5:03 pm

Thinking of buying a FlightAware Pro Stick Plus and connecting to VRS

Post by xristostra86 » Thu Apr 27, 2017 4:44 pm

Hello to all,

I am not sure if I opened this post into the proper thread , so i'm sorry if i didn't

As the subject says i am thinking to buy a FlightAware Pro Stick Plus ADS-B USB Receiver with Built-in Filter

( http://www.ebay.com/itm/FlightAware-Pro ... 94839#rwid )

In order to extend my range within the current RTL SDR dongle.

The main question is: If I buy the first mentioned product from FlightAware , should I be able to properly connect it and use it with my existing VRS software or not ?
At the moment i am not interested for any kind of 3rd party feedings and I am going to work it independently.

Also are these products (from other companies like flightaware) possible to be connected and work even in Raspberry devices ?

Thank you very much for your time :)

xristostra86
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 5:03 pm

Re: Thinking of buying a FlightAware Pro Stick Plus and connecting to VRS

Post by xristostra86 » Tue May 02, 2017 3:00 pm

Question answered after communication with FlightAware.

It is compatible with Windows pc's and with Virtual Radar Server :)

jdor
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 1:41 pm

Re: Thinking of buying a FlightAware Pro Stick Plus and connecting to VRS

Post by jdor » Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:00 am

Hi there,

Did you successfully get this working (flight stick pro) with a raspberry pi and vrs ?

xristostra86
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 5:03 pm

Re: Thinking of buying a FlightAware Pro Stick Plus and connecting to VRS

Post by xristostra86 » Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:52 pm

Yes , it work perfect :) both windows and raspberry pi.

jdor
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 1:41 pm

Re: Thinking of buying a FlightAware Pro Stick Plus and connecting to VRS

Post by jdor » Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:27 pm

Did you use a different sdr previously? how does using the flight stick plus compare ? do you have your vrs online ?

xristostra86
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 5:03 pm

Re: Thinking of buying a FlightAware Pro Stick Plus and connecting to VRS

Post by xristostra86 » Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:58 am

Yes I was using the classic rtl dongle. the cheap one. Of course flightaware pro stick + , has got more coverage because of it's filter etc.. I receive about 200% more than my previous dongle :D , but everything has to do also with the antenna.

I dont have it in a public web address (if this is what you mean).

jdor
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 1:41 pm

Re: Thinking of buying a FlightAware Pro Stick Plus and connecting to VRS

Post by jdor » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:59 pm

ok thanks.

Final question what antenna do you use ? and where is it located eg loft, roft, room

regards

xristostra86
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 5:03 pm

Re: Thinking of buying a FlightAware Pro Stick Plus and connecting to VRS

Post by xristostra86 » Mon Sep 17, 2018 1:11 am

I generally try many types of them , but if you want to have nice coverage you should look for ready-solutions.

Some very good antennas are made by FlightAware and also by AirNav Systems. Just search in google for adsb antenna. You will also see the active diapason type which is also very nice.

The "good reception" factor is to put the antenna in the highest location that you can , with panoramic view and not any buildings around.

You also need to keep short the antenna cable (coax low loss) in order to avoid loss. Another good idea is to buy an usb active extender and put the dongle in a waterproof box near the antenna ;)

Hope that I answered your questions.

jdor
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 1:41 pm

Re: Thinking of buying a FlightAware Pro Stick Plus and connecting to VRS

Post by jdor » Mon Sep 17, 2018 11:27 am

Thank you

Dodsy
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2018 2:07 pm

Re: Thinking of buying a FlightAware Pro Stick Plus and connecting to VRS

Post by Dodsy » Mon Sep 17, 2018 2:12 pm

Do you get MLAT data on VRS from your FA stick?

I have the blue one with a PI but I can only get non MLAT traffic to show on VRS

I've used port 30105 on VRS for MLAT and whilst messages come through nothing is trackable

Post Reply