Page 2 of 3

Re: Install or MLAT problem

Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2016 11:54 am
by orion_jb2001
The command (ps ax | grep fa-mlat-) is just to show the running service with its commands.
So it's only to check IF and with what parameters the FA-MLAT-client is running on your PI
And the result of that check:L

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ ps ax | grep fa-mlat-
3168 pts/0 S+ 0:00 grep --color=auto fa-mlat-
26480 ? S 57:32 /usr/lib/piaware/helpers/fa-mlat-client --input-connect localhost:30005 --input-type dump1090 --results beast,connect,localhost:30104 --results beast,listen,30105 --results ext_basestation,listen,30106 --udp-transport 70.42.6.224:9946:587056968

Re: Install or MLAT problem

Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2016 12:02 pm
by DeWoert
That look okey, ad should provide MLAT data in VRS.
Did you set your receiver in VRS to the IP-address of your PI, port 30105 and the "AVR or Beast Raw" format ?
(Uncheck the "Push receiver" !)

You can also try to set it to BaseStation format on port 30106.

Re: Install or MLAT problem

Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2016 12:29 pm
by orion_jb2001
Yes on all those, but still no data???

Re: Install or MLAT problem

Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2016 12:33 pm
by orion_jb2001
Tried base station on 30106, still no good.

Re: Install or MLAT problem

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 3:53 am
by orion_jb2001
Good news!! Finally got the system to work with a base station setting, using 30106. Data being recorded as per the VRS web server status and aircraft being displayed in maps. :)

Re: Install or MLAT problem

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:28 am
by DeWoert
What has changed so that it is working now ?

Re: Install or MLAT problem

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 12:06 pm
by orion_jb2001
It may have well been working before. The big problem in Australia is there are not many setups sharing data and MLAT specifically. As you know, you need more than one station tracking the same MLAT data, for it to record. Also traffic levels at that time are normally down MLAT traffic as well. Monday morning with traffic back up again and MLAT traffic being tracked at the same time by the limited stations, confirmed that MLAT data was able to be tracked, just not there when doing those set up checks. Must say VRS very good, tracked a number of military air craft today. All good now. :)

Re: Install or MLAT problem

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 9:22 am
by ianhind
I agree that somewhere it said about data on Piaware ports. But from the Piaware github site (https://github.com/flightaware/piaware) it only says:
By default, multilateration positions resulting from the data that you feed to FlightAware are returned to you by sending them to the local dump1090 process on port 30104; dump1090 will then include them on the web map it generates.
No mention of port 30105 there :( . And I could not get MALT results without adjusting the settings.

If you look in /etc/piaware.conf (from command line type: cat /etc/piaware.conf), it shows your current setting. After installing with Joe's setup script, the default was:

Code: Select all

mlat-results-format "beast,connect,localhost:30104"   # updated by fa_piaware_config
I added beast output on port 31005 using the command:

Code: Select all

sudo piaware-config mlat-results-format "beast,connect,localhost:30104 beast,listen,31005"
To check it worked, /etc/piaware.conf now looks like:

Code: Select all

mlat-results-format "beast,connect,localhost:30104 beast,listen,31005"   # updated by fa_piaware_config
VRS should now get the MLAT data on port 31005 from your Pi's IP address.

Re: Install or MLAT problem

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 10:02 am
by DeWoert
That was how it worked for PiAware v2.x
Since v3.x.x there should be MLAT data on 30105 (beast format) and 30106 (BaseStation format) by default.

Re: Install or MLAT problem

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 10:08 am
by orion_jb2001
@ianhind thanks for helping but @ DeWoert, correct.

Jeff