Rebroadcast Server VRS to Basestation

Are you having trouble getting Virtual Radar Server installed and running? If so then this is the place to ask about it.
javi
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 4:51 pm

Rebroadcast Server VRS to Basestation

Post by javi » Tue Mar 05, 2019 6:30 pm

Hi,

I am trying to rebroadcast through VRS, the Pingstation receiver information that uses compressed VRS to Basestation software, basestation format. Both VRS and Basestation are running on the same computer with local IP 192.168.0.18. With respect to the port, I have configured in Rebroadcast server to send it to 10001, having configured Basestation/network by default IP 127.0.0.1 and port 10001. Attached screenshots with configuration, VRS sends packets but Basestation does not connect.

I have tried to send it to other ports such as 30003 or 30006 configuring Basestation/network, without success either.

If someone can help me and indicate that I am doing wrong ?.

Thank you so much.

agw
Posts: 2247
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Rebroadcast Server VRS to Basestation

Post by agw » Tue Mar 05, 2019 6:49 pm

VRS doesn't send messages in the format that BaseStation wants to see them in. However, ModeSDeco (http://xdeco.org/?page_id=39) appears to support it, you can try connecting that to your VRS rebroadcast server and then use the --sbs10001 switch to let BaseStation connect to it.

javi
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 4:51 pm

Re: Rebroadcast Server VRS to Basestation

Post by javi » Wed Mar 06, 2019 10:04 am

I'll try it. Thank you.

javi
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 4:51 pm

Re: Rebroadcast Server VRS to Basestation

Post by javi » Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:44 pm

Hi again,
I have tried modedeco2 and I do not see the possibility of being able to indicate the data source, IP and port. I have tried modesmixer2 and this is what I have achieved:
Since VRS i'm trying to rebroadcast Compressed VRS (from pingstation receiver) to basestation format so that you see this traffic in Basestation software.
I tell you what I am doing, in case you could please help me get. Thanks a lot!!

Pingstation configuration:
Image
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-p ... 43619.html

Pingstation configuration in VRS, it is displayed correctly in VRS:
Image
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-p ... 43614.html

In VRS retransmit to Basestation format the frames of the Compressed VRS pingstation:
Image
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-p ... 43612.html
Image
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-p ... 43615.html

I use software modesmixer2 to connect to the IP and port where frames are rebroadcasting from VRS.

File modesmixer2.bat that I run:

Code: Select all

@echo off

cmd /c modesmixer2.exe --web 8080 --location 42.26:-8.77 "Compressed VRS" --metric --inConnect 192.168.0.18:33033 --outServer beast:30002 --inConnect 192.168.0.18:30002 --outServer sbs10001:10001

PAUSE
A priori everything runs correctly detecting data stream:
Image
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-p ... 43616.html

But although Base station connects, it does not represent any airplane:
Image
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-p ... 43617.html

agw
Posts: 2247
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Rebroadcast Server VRS to Basestation

Post by agw » Sat Mar 09, 2019 10:26 pm

I've not had occasion to use it yet but looking at the program's command line parameters I'm wondering how it knows that you are sending it Compressed VRS? I know you've got the name "Compressed VRS" in the command line but I think that's just to label the input in the display, I don't see any options that tell it which format it's listening to. Maybe it tries to figure the format out for itself, in which case you might want to consider trying a more standard message format for the rebroadcast server - either AVR/Beast or BaseStation?

javi
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 4:51 pm

Re: Rebroadcast Server VRS to Basestation

Post by javi » Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:38 pm

About modesmixer2 and Compressed VRS, I found in this forum the use of this sentence "Compressed VRS". what I do not quite understand is how to enter it in modesmixer2 so that, as you say, know that data entry is compressed vrs. What I have not seen in modesmixer2 is that argument put in front of Compressed VRS.
https://radarspotting.com/forum/index.p ... c=2978.990

Skibox
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 7:06 pm
Location: ESGG

Re: Rebroadcast Server VRS to Basestation

Post by Skibox » Mon Mar 11, 2019 11:24 pm

ModeSmixer 2 has auto-sense on inputs, but afaik it does not understand CompressedVRS.

But, you are not feeding it Compressed VRS, you are connecting to 33033 where it should find Basestation format?

And you are also connecting to 192.168.0.18:30002 where it seems to find something in BEAST format, why do you connect to this port also?

Remove the "Compressed VRS" text, it has no function.

Run ModeSmixer with debug, you can see what messages it decodes.

/M

javi
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 4:51 pm

Re: Rebroadcast Server VRS to Basestation

Post by javi » Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:23 pm

The first thing I did was connect with modesmixer2 to the IP and port where VRS is rebroadcasting Compressed VRS in basestation format, but in Basestation I do not see any information.

This is what I have done the first time:
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-p ... 43726.html
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-p ... 43727.html
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-p ... 43725.html

Code: Select all

@echo off
cmd /c modesmixer2.exe --web 8080 --location 42.26:-8.77 --metric --inConnect 192.168.0.18:30001 --outServer sbs10001:10001
PAUSE
Unless I'm doing something wrong, conclusions that would be that VRS does not change Compressed VRS to basestation format, so I do not understand what this VRS option is for.

javi
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 4:51 pm

Re: Rebroadcast Server VRS to Basestation

Post by javi » Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:34 pm

someone could confirm me that ir VRS does not change Compressed VRS to basestation format? and if VRS is going to implement this option in some future release?.
Thanks!!!

ianhind
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:40 pm

Re: Rebroadcast Server VRS to Basestation

Post by ianhind » Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:00 pm

@Skibox

You seem to have answered the questions about modesmixer2 with the same answers that I did on another forum.

I investigated further and although modesmixer2 seems to accept Compressed VRS as an input (no error messages!), the outout on port 10001 generates no plots on BaseStation software.

The OP wants to input Compressed VRS data into VRS and rebroadcast as a format that modesmixer2 understands (BaseStation or AVR seem to be the options from VRS).

Since it seems only PingStation is outputting Compressed VRS, not a lot of opportunity to test the problem. However I did set up two VMs running VRS.

Piaware into first VRS and rebroadcasting Compressed VRS.

Hence Compressed VRS into second VRS but all the rebroadcast options say "not allowed".


@agw
VRS accepts Compressed VRS as an input. To help this guy, is it possible to modify VRS to rebroadcast that input as BaseStaion or VR? Modesmixer2 could then convert that output.

I have no idea how big a task that is :(

Ian

Post Reply