Page 1 of 1

What does the MLAT tick exactly do?

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 10:43 am
by Saturnus
http://www.virtualradarserver.co.uk/doc ... tions.aspx
MLAT

This tick box is only enabled when you select a receiver in the Receivers list. Ticking this box tells VRS that the selected receiver is an MLAT feed. The feed calculates positions for aircraft that do not transmit positions themselves. VRS will use these positions even if the feed is not the nominated feed for an aircraft.
I know what MLAT is, have a basic understanding of how it works, but still don't understand what explicitely will change when telling VRS that a certain feed is MLAT.
Thanks.

Re: What does the MLAT tick exactly do?

Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 5:09 pm
by Skibox
Saturnus wrote:
Fri Sep 20, 2019 10:43 am
I know what MLAT is, have a basic understanding of how it works, but still don't understand what explicitely will change when telling VRS that a certain feed is MLAT.
It allows VRS to take positions for an aircraft from this feed when available, even if more frequent data is coming in from other receivers (as those other feeds contain no position info).

But there are still bugs that does not correctly set the mlat flag from mlat feeds, so it can get confusing when viewing the resulting data.

/M

Re: What does the MLAT tick exactly do?

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:44 pm
by Saturnus
Skibox wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2020 5:09 pm
Saturnus wrote:
Fri Sep 20, 2019 10:43 am
I know what MLAT is, have a basic understanding of how it works, but still don't understand what explicitely will change when telling VRS that a certain feed is MLAT.
It allows VRS to take positions for an aircraft from this feed when available, even if more frequent data is coming in from other receivers (as those other feeds contain no position info).

But there are still bugs that does not correctly set the mlat flag from mlat feeds, so it can get confusing when viewing the resulting data.

/M
Thanks.