Wrong country displayed on the data map

Are you having trouble getting Virtual Radar Server installed and running? If so then this is the place to ask about it.
Post Reply
I0216GR
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:15 pm
Location: Italia
Contact:

Wrong country displayed on the data map

Post by I0216GR » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:06 am

Hi all,
I use VRS with ADSB Sharp and the dongle RTL2832U.
I installed SBS-resources and have updated the data.
The software works very well and I can clearly see the traces of the planes on the map complete of all the data. but I noticed that on flights that should have as a country "Italy" is shown instead of "Ireland". Why is that?
I enclose a picture.

Roby
Attachments
Immagine 2013-01-17.jpg
Immagine 2013-01-17.jpg (107.55 KiB) Viewed 1960 times

agw
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Wrong country displayed on the data map

Post by agw » Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:26 am

ICAO24 codes are allocated in blocks to different countries. The Mode-S Country takes the aircraft's ICAO24 code and shows which country was allocated the block that the code is in. All of the circled aircraft have an ICAO24 in Ireland's block (4CAxxx) which is why they're all showing as having a Mode-S Country of Ireland. You'll see that they all have Irish registrations too.

This thread here explains why Alitalia are flying Irish registered aircraft: http://www.pprune.org/spectators-balcon ... tered.html. I imagine all of the circled Italian aircraft are leased.

I0216GR
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:15 pm
Location: Italia
Contact:

Re: Wrong country displayed on the data map

Post by I0216GR » Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:00 am

Thank you very much agv.
An explanation very simple and clear that I was not aware of.

Roby

Post Reply