Page 1 of 1

MLAT selector

Posted: Fri May 22, 2015 1:32 am
by GregoryGHarding
does this setting in the receiver config do the math behind MLAT to create a rough A/C plot on the map, or is this for pulling already MLAT'ed data?

could you explain the MALT selector options?

thanks

Re: MLAT selector

Posted: Fri May 22, 2015 10:31 pm
by agw
It controls the merging of a feed from an MLAT client. MLAT clients that only send calculated positions tend to transmit fewer messages than other receivers, so the other receivers take priority in merges and get shown instead, which means the calculated positions don't appear in the merged feed. With the new flag a position-only MLAT feeds add positions to the feed but the rest of the aircraft's information comes from another receiver, positions-injected MLAT feeds contribute all of the data for an aircraft and always take priority over all other receivers.

I'll be changing that before release. The flag works alright if you are merging an MLAT feed with normal receivers, but it's not so great if you have a merged feed that consists solely of MLAT clients.

Re: MLAT selector

Posted: Thu May 28, 2015 3:18 am
by GregoryGHarding
will this be updated to include receivers that send exact timestamps and receiver locations, so that vrs can calculate the locations and push them to the map itself?

Re: MLAT selector

Posted: Thu May 28, 2015 10:54 pm
by agw
No, there are no plans to have VRS work as an MLAT server. There are other people who are working on that problem separately, all VRS will be doing is giving priority to feeds coming from an MLAT server when it does its merging.

Re: MLAT selector

Posted: Fri May 29, 2015 6:28 am
by GregoryGHarding
could you tell me who's working on an mlat server solution? i have numerous receivers id like to get set up that way.. i dont want to use PP because i dont want to share, besides the fact im the only one in my area

Re: MLAT selector

Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:14 pm
by agw
It's not really my place to go blabbing stuff :) Last I heard it was getting close to release, I don't think you'll have to wait too long before you get a chance to play with it.

One thing to be aware of is that for MLAT to work your receivers would have to be spread out geographically, I would have thought that you would probably need to have a good few miles between them so that you can get decent differences in reception times.

Re: MLAT selector

Posted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 1:27 am
by GregoryGHarding
no worries there andrew, i have alot of receivers in many provinces in canada which also overlap many times