No airplanes on map or with random showing

Is Virtual Radar Server not behaving itself? If so then please report it here.
ADSB_MBX
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 6:15 pm

No airplanes on map or with random showing

Postby ADSB_MBX » Sat Apr 22, 2017 3:41 pm

Hello,

i have an issue with VRS 2.4 and showing planes on map. The problem is following:
- i receive data with ADSB USB dongle and i use adsbscope 2.7
- i configured VRS 2.4 so i can receive signals from receiver
- in map i do not see any air planes, from time to time randomly is show one or maybe two air planes
- in the list i can see lot of air planes with all data, but not on map
- if i select a plane from list sometimes i can see it, sometimes not
- the distances shown when i select an air plane are not normal from few 100 km to few 1000 km
- the lan/log in VRS are set the same as for the map
- in the VRS 2.4 there is no option to set map location (lan/lon), so i installed VRS 2.0 to solve this and then i reinstalled VRS 2.4 ( initial i had position of the map in England ( Windsor ) therefore i made this trip to VRS 2.0 installation)
- if i check to show trail, there were none shown. Not even if i select an air plane.
- i use Firefox 45
- i tried to see air planes also with tablet and Firefox, and there are planes randomly selected and shown, but i can not see a unselected planes

What could be wrong, or better where i have something wrong ?
Before this, my installation worked perfect with the same hardware and software, but two days ago hard drive corrupted and i installed everything from zero on ( OS and other stuff ).

Regards.

rogerst707
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 4:43 am

Re: No airplanes on map or with random showing

Postby rogerst707 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 4:58 am

Hi,

I am also having very similar issues with VRS 2.4 64 bit as I did a clean install and I am running it with an RTL1090 dongle and I am seeing all of the pertinent aircraft data in the right hand column but on-the-screen I am *only* able to see ADS-B, ADS-B V1. and ADS-B V2 aircraft on-my-screen while mode-s aircraft data shows up in the right hand column of my screen but I cannot see *ANY* mode-s aircraft *on-my-screen*. Here in the US mode-s is still widely used and I would rather have the mode-s part working properly than the ADS-B. ;)

Have I (we) ran into a bug??

I have screenshot's of mode-s aircraft I have tracked with older versions of VRS so I know something is up with VRS.

Any help would be *super* appreciated!

-Roger

PS I am running Windows 7 Pro along with Firefox version 53

agw
Posts: 1883
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: No airplanes on map or with random showing

Postby agw » Sun Apr 23, 2017 3:24 pm

rogerst707 wrote:but I cannot see *ANY* mode-s aircraft *on-my-screen*


Mode-S doesn't carry the aircraft position, that's only carried by ADS-B. I'm afraid you won't see Mode-S aircraft on the map unless you use something like multilateration (which will involve setting up a network of 3+ receivers, ideally spaced several miles apart, and installing MLAT software such as https://github.com/mutability/mlat-client to generate position messages for the aircraft).

I think the FAA has mandated ADS-B for commercial aircraft by some date... ISTR it was 2020? So the situation should improve eventually.

rogerst707 wrote:i have an issue with VRS 2.4 and showing planes on map. The problem is following:


The current version of Firefox is 50-something. However, I wouldn't expect any issues with 45.

Do you have the custom content plugin installed? If so, what happens when you disable it and drop back to the default JavaScript?

rogerst707
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 4:43 am

Re: No airplanes on map or with random showing

Postby rogerst707 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 5:14 pm

But older versions of VRS show *all* mode s aircraft....why would I have to do something crazy like setting up 3 receivers when *older* versions of VRS worked *perfectly* picking up *ALL* mode-s aircraft *on-screen*?

Thanks,

-Roger

PS I'm going to edit this to say not *all* mode-s aircraft showed up on screen but *most* did....I have screenshot proof.
Last edited by rogerst707 on Sun Apr 23, 2017 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rogerst707
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 4:43 am

Re: No airplanes on map or with random showing

Postby rogerst707 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 5:28 pm

And I know for sure something is wrong with the VRS software because when I know a mode-s aircraft is there but I cant see it on my screen I can go to flightradar24.com which uses dongle data to track flights I can *see* the mode-s aircraft on-my-screen.

I'm telling you...something is *drastically* wrong with the VRS software....somebody fixed something that broke something else....but plain and simply older versions of VRS tracked mode-s aircraft beautifully....VRS 2.4 does not!

-Roger

ADSB_MBX
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 6:15 pm

Re: No airplanes on map or with random showing

Postby ADSB_MBX » Sun Apr 23, 2017 9:31 pm

agw wrote:
rogerst707 wrote:but I cannot see *ANY* mode-s aircraft *on-my-screen*


The current version of Firefox is 50-something. However, I wouldn't expect any issues with 45.

Do you have the custom content plugin installed? If so, what happens when you disable it and drop back to the default JavaScript?

Hello,

no i do not have any content plugins installed. I tried in FF 45, FF52, Chrome and always the same result. The planes are not seen on map, just on the list and if i select any of them they showing a distance what i mentioned in my first msg. Map is loaded with correct lan/log. ( i can see my location with dot )
So from where does VRS calculate distance of the plane ? Ok one are planes coordinates, ant the second point should be a coordinate of receiver which is entered in VRC configuration under Receiver Locations.

I really do not know where is the source of the problem.

ADSB_MBX
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 6:15 pm

Re: No airplanes on map or with random showing

Postby ADSB_MBX » Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:58 pm

I think i solved the problem ( for now). It looks there were an issue between ADBSscope and VRS. After restarting of ADBSscope it started to work fine as it has in the past.

rogerst707
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 4:43 am

Re: No airplanes on map or with random showing

Postby rogerst707 » Tue Apr 25, 2017 3:40 am

And FYI I figured out my issue also. It seems that the particular aircraft that I was tracking for years switched out their 1090-ES transponders for mode-s only. I mistakenly said that I had tracked mode-s transponders on-screen in the past but they were actually 1090-ES transponders. And as another person posted multi-receiver multilateration is why I can see mode-s transponder aircraft on-screen on flightradar24.com

My apologies for all of the confusion and 'blaming the software"! ;-)

-Roger


Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest