Page 6 of 10

Re: Bugs in 2.0.2

Posted: Thu May 22, 2014 11:24 am
by I0216GR
To complete the previous post, today I go to Menu on the browser and if I click on "Yesterday's Flights" I have the same message and no flights in the list.

Roby

Re: Bugs in 2.0.2

Posted: Thu May 22, 2014 8:47 pm
by I0216GR
I solved my problem: the bug was in my head!
I didn't installed the Database Writer Plugin and I had the BaseStation.sqb file downloaded from internet only.
Now I have my flights list and much more info from it.

Sorry for mistake and thanks for your very good work Andrew!

Roby

Re: Bugs in 2.0.2

Posted: Tue May 27, 2014 10:55 pm
by garfin
I know computer Speech is not always the easiest to comprehend, but, Speech mode seems to mis-read the ICAO and callsigns of aircraft.. (it inserts spurious number 2's into everything)

for example.. THIS one.. was reported as TC6C922 JST7235
vrs.PNG
vrs.PNG (100.33 KiB) Viewed 3703 times
-Gary

*edit : and another...

THIS one sounded like 7C820321 RXA325527
vrs2.PNG
vrs2.PNG (16.59 KiB) Viewed 3703 times

Re: Bugs in 2.0.2

Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 4:14 pm
by agw
Sorry for the delay in replying! I seem to recall this getting reported before... from what I can remember it was caused by me inserting hyphens into the string to get the text-to-speech stuff in Windows to read out each character in the ICAO or registration correctly. Prior to Windows 8 if I asked it to read out "A - B - C - D" it would spell out each letter but from Windows 8 onwards it occasionally interprets the hyphen as "to" and produces the effect you're getting.

However, it looks like while I figured out what it was doing I hadn't actually gotten around to fixing it :) I've DEFINITELY added it to the list this time (http://tracker.virtualradarserver.co.uk ... ue/VRS-128), it'll be fixed for the next release.

Re: Bugs in 2.0.2

Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 12:51 am
by garfin
agw wrote:rbut from Windows 8 onwards it occasionally interprets the hyphen as "to" and produces the effect you're getting.
Ahh.. its TO , not 2 .. of course.. lol

& Yes, I should have mentioned its running on an Windows 8.1 machine. Oops.
Rgds

Re: Bugs in 2.0.2

Posted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 7:29 pm
by pensinck
Hi Andrew,

just a small one, when adding routes I get occasionally the following error:
An exception has been caught: [SqlTypeException] SqlDateTime overflow. Must be between 1/1/1753 12:00:00 AM and 12/31/9999 11:59:59 PM.

I just log off and log on again and it works for me again.

This issue was there also in version 2.0.0.

Kind regards
Pascal

Re: Bugs in 2.0.2

Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2014 1:15 am
by agw
Thanks for letting me know, I'll take a look into it. I might not be able to get it fixed until next weekend though.

Re: Bugs in 2.0.2

Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2014 8:48 am
by pensinck
Hi Andrew,

another small one, again when adding routes:

It looks like that some airlines use the leading 0 somewhere in the callsign, for example GWI and CFG and it is significant

When entering a callsign like CFG0MP it translates this automatically to CFGMP and for GWI01P towards GWI1P but actually it should contain the leading zero.


Kind regards,

Pascal

Re: Bugs in 2.0.2

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2014 1:30 am
by agw
The leading zeros are stripped from the callsign by the routes site because pilots are inconsistent about whether they enter them, and how many they enter. VRS will try different permutations of the callsign, including removing leading zeros, if it can't find a route for the callsign that the aircraft transmits.

However, it shouldn't be stripping the leading zero if it's the ONLY number in the callsign :) I'll fix the routes site so that it leaves the zero intact if it's the only number.

Re: Bugs in 2.0.2

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 10:15 am
by Skibox
If a receiver input is configured for Binary/raw input but is instead connected to a BS-formatted rebroadcast, it will buffer messages indefinately until it throws an out of memory exception. Some sanity check of the feed would be good, or even a auto-detect on inputs. ModeSmixer does a good job of auto-detecting input formats and it seems to work well.

/M