Add support for AIS message 9

The "to-do" list for Virtual Radar Server is as long as my arm, but if you want to pile more work onto it then this is for you.
agw
Posts: 2250
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Add support for AIS message 9

Post by agw »

Hello :)

No, no progress yet on AIS. Once VRS can identify and deal with non-ICAO aircraft codes I'll be able to add things like support for AIS, but that's still some way off.
tarbat
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 4:49 pm

Re: Add support for AIS message 9

Post by tarbat »

In the meantime, if anyone's interested, I've written a quick "proof-of-concept" VB program that:
1. Accepts AIS input on user-defined server address/port. Acts as a client.
2. Outputs any AIS type 9 message as a Basestation MSG3 type message on a user-defined localhost port.
3. It sets the ICAO hex code to the last 6 digits of the MMSI.

No warranty, no support. I wrote it for my own use, but happy to share if it helps. Download from http://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8PduD ... FJHS0ljR00 and unzip to anywhere.

Make sure that both the AIS server and VRS are up and running on the ports you specify before pressing START. It's very unforgiving for failed connections!!

Image
prradar
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 4:29 am
Contact:

Re: Add support for AIS message 9

Post by prradar »

This is very nice, I wish this can be expanded for all AIS Messages so I can have both ships and plane on one system :D
tarbat
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 4:49 pm

Re: Add support for AIS message 9

Post by tarbat »

prradar wrote:This is very nice, I wish this can be expanded for all AIS Messages so I can have both ships and plane on one system :D
A lot harder to do, as that would involve decoding over 20 different AIS message formats, so not something I would consider doing.
Mac
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:49 am

Re: Add support for AIS message 9

Post by Mac »

Excellent work !
eurolocke
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 8:22 pm

Re: Add support for AIS message 9

Post by eurolocke »

Hi guys,

Can anyone reprovide the AIS2ADSB tool from tarbat? Meanwhile
the link has expired.

Thank you so much
Laurenz
Post Reply