MLAT

The "to-do" list for Virtual Radar Server is as long as my arm, but if you want to pile more work onto it then this is for you.
Jester
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:23 pm

MLAT

Post by Jester » Tue Jun 04, 2013 5:59 pm

Maybe not so much a feature suggestion (or maybe it is...) but a way to make it work in VRS.

Setup:

I'm currently a Groundstation/Master User with auto mlat using planeplotter.

When I switch to input from Basestation to VRS to Planeplotter to VRS I'm only seeing my locally received traffic (not the remotely received traffic or the auto MLAT traffic)
But both are displayed fine within planeplotter.

1. Am I missing something in my setup ?
2. Is planeplotter NOT sending this extra data to VRS ?
3. is VRS not using the data send by planeplotter ?

Any ideas are welcome :)

Cheers

agw
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: MLAT

Post by agw » Wed Jun 05, 2013 12:24 am

I don't have Planeplotter installed but in principle if an aircraft is on the feed from Planeplotter then it'll get displayed, there's no setup required over and above setting the feed type to BaseStation and pointing it at Planeplotter's port 30003 feed. It sounds like the feed you're pointing it at isn't sending the MLAT / shared aircraft.

Jester
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:23 pm

Re: MLAT

Post by Jester » Wed Jun 05, 2013 9:09 am

Thanks, thats what I thought.

Before I go hunt down bev and complain that this should be enabled, does somebody reading this know if this is a "feature" of planeplotter ?

It seems a little stupid not to broadcast MLAT/received and processed shared data on the planeplotter server feed, when you are a paying groundstation/master user and you are already received the data locally

jfm
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 4:09 pm

Re: MLAT

Post by jfm » Wed Jun 05, 2013 5:23 pm

I asked this question re: beamfinder fixes calculated locally being sent over 30003. Never really did get an answer, but I think that only local traffic is sent over 30003.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/planeplot ... sage/69046

agw
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: MLAT

Post by agw » Wed Jun 05, 2013 5:30 pm

I can see the logic in it if that's the case, if MLAT and shared traffic were on the feed then someone could rebroadcast the feed. Anyone listening to it would get the MLAT positions for free.

Jester
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:23 pm

Re: MLAT

Post by Jester » Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:37 pm

agw wrote:I can see the logic in it if that's the case, if MLAT and shared traffic were on the feed then someone could rebroadcast the feed. Anyone listening to it would get the MLAT positions for free.
Point is, I paid for the software plus I provide input to make MLAT work in the first place, this should be enough to allow me to use data I provide to planeplotter anyway I want....

Jester
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:23 pm

Re: MLAT

Post by Jester » Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:43 pm

Here is an idea, how about MLAT on VRS ;-)

agw
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: MLAT

Post by agw » Fri Jun 07, 2013 12:05 am

One thing at a time - feed merging / sharing first :)

Jester
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:23 pm

Re: MLAT

Post by Jester » Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:56 pm

agw wrote:One thing at a time - feed merging / sharing first :)
Yes please :)

Jester
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:23 pm

Re: MLAT

Post by Jester » Sat Feb 01, 2014 4:22 pm

Right, now that we have multiple feeds and merged feeds working, I'm all in for an MLAT test run :)

Heck, I already setup test feeds in 3 locations with gps time source to be ready, hint hint nudge nudge....

Post Reply