Page 1 of 4

MLAT

Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 5:59 pm
by Jester
Maybe not so much a feature suggestion (or maybe it is...) but a way to make it work in VRS.

Setup:

I'm currently a Groundstation/Master User with auto mlat using planeplotter.

When I switch to input from Basestation to VRS to Planeplotter to VRS I'm only seeing my locally received traffic (not the remotely received traffic or the auto MLAT traffic)
But both are displayed fine within planeplotter.

1. Am I missing something in my setup ?
2. Is planeplotter NOT sending this extra data to VRS ?
3. is VRS not using the data send by planeplotter ?

Any ideas are welcome :)

Cheers

Re: MLAT

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 12:24 am
by agw
I don't have Planeplotter installed but in principle if an aircraft is on the feed from Planeplotter then it'll get displayed, there's no setup required over and above setting the feed type to BaseStation and pointing it at Planeplotter's port 30003 feed. It sounds like the feed you're pointing it at isn't sending the MLAT / shared aircraft.

Re: MLAT

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 9:09 am
by Jester
Thanks, thats what I thought.

Before I go hunt down bev and complain that this should be enabled, does somebody reading this know if this is a "feature" of planeplotter ?

It seems a little stupid not to broadcast MLAT/received and processed shared data on the planeplotter server feed, when you are a paying groundstation/master user and you are already received the data locally

Re: MLAT

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 5:23 pm
by jfm
I asked this question re: beamfinder fixes calculated locally being sent over 30003. Never really did get an answer, but I think that only local traffic is sent over 30003.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/planeplot ... sage/69046

Re: MLAT

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 5:30 pm
by agw
I can see the logic in it if that's the case, if MLAT and shared traffic were on the feed then someone could rebroadcast the feed. Anyone listening to it would get the MLAT positions for free.

Re: MLAT

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:37 pm
by Jester
agw wrote:I can see the logic in it if that's the case, if MLAT and shared traffic were on the feed then someone could rebroadcast the feed. Anyone listening to it would get the MLAT positions for free.
Point is, I paid for the software plus I provide input to make MLAT work in the first place, this should be enough to allow me to use data I provide to planeplotter anyway I want....

Re: MLAT

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:43 pm
by Jester
Here is an idea, how about MLAT on VRS ;-)

Re: MLAT

Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 12:05 am
by agw
One thing at a time - feed merging / sharing first :)

Re: MLAT

Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:56 pm
by Jester
agw wrote:One thing at a time - feed merging / sharing first :)
Yes please :)

Re: MLAT

Posted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 4:22 pm
by Jester
Right, now that we have multiple feeds and merged feeds working, I'm all in for an MLAT test run :)

Heck, I already setup test feeds in 3 locations with gps time source to be ready, hint hint nudge nudge....