Registration Edit on Submit Route Page

The "to-do" list for Virtual Radar Server is as long as my arm, but if you want to pile more work onto it then this is for you.
Post Reply
paradiselost
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:22 am
Location: Philippines

Registration Edit on Submit Route Page

Post by paradiselost » Sun Apr 06, 2014 11:05 am

For some reason OpFlags don't appear for a contact unless the Registration is decoded. For that matter the Silhouette may not appear either.

The Registration number is available from many of the same sources available to verify routes.

The OpFlags seem to be the product of the javascript which take the OpFlag.bmp from sources unknown and converts it into this example URL:

http://192.168.254.106/VirtualRadar/ima ... OpFlag.png which doesn't exist.

I wonder if there is a switch in the VRS configuration that would improve the decoding of the Registration number?

On the Statistics page from my receiver. I see over 50% rejection for Mode-S messages.

If we could add the registration number to the record we would see more pretty pictures for our contacts.

John
Working Example of Version 2 Beta Virtual Radar Server http://dgteflyovers.ddns.net/virtualradar/
VRS 2 Help Files http://dgteflyovers.ddns.net:8080

jonfear
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Wick St Lawrence
Contact:

Re: Registration Edit on Submit Route Page

Post by jonfear » Sun Apr 06, 2014 4:06 pm

Hi John

Can you post a copy of the statistics page for us to take a look at? Also can you tells us about your receiver and OS that it is running (RTL1090 on Windows 7 or Dump1090 or Raspberry PI, SBS-3, Beast).

The Registration number is usually one of the first items displayed, this only happens when there has been some health and sanity checking of the received signal.

The operator flags are usually in the directory that you have told VRS they are in during setup. This does assume that you have these installed. I use the ones from http://www.sbs-resources.com. The same goes for the silhouettes.

Jon
http://www.360radar.co.uk, the new name for MLAT Radar in the UK and Western Europe.

Former PP feeder Bm. No longer feeding. I do not have time to sort out imaginary problems with NTP
when it has been working fine for 2+ Years.

paradiselost
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:22 am
Location: Philippines

Re: Registration Edit on Submit Route Page

Post by paradiselost » Sun Apr 06, 2014 7:20 pm

This is my statistics page. The only .SQB file I got to work is the Kinetics one installed with the SBS-resources bundle. The other .SQB files didn't seem to get along with the datawriter plugin. The one with the bundle installed in an out of the way place and took a bit to find.

As I said before the operator flag only appears when a Registration number is decoded if that .BMP OpFlag exists in the directory you have told VRS where to look.

The assortment of SBS-resources OpFlags is incomplete and the conundrum faced is what to call added 85x20 images so VRS can use them. An Example are new airline images for Philippine Express 2P/GAP. Do you name it Gap.BMP or 2P.BMP.
statistics.jpg
statistics.jpg (74.42 KiB) Viewed 4819 times
Look at your own VRS list and see the targets with an ICAO,callsign,and route that don't have either a silhouette or OpFlag showing. The common denominator will be the lack of a decoded Registration number.

John
Working Example of Version 2 Beta Virtual Radar Server http://dgteflyovers.ddns.net/virtualradar/
VRS 2 Help Files http://dgteflyovers.ddns.net:8080

jonfear
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Wick St Lawrence
Contact:

Re: Registration Edit on Submit Route Page

Post by jonfear » Mon Apr 07, 2014 12:02 am

John

You have a very high unusable count. I saw this with an old version of dump1090. How are you feeding VRS (What system)?

I do not have silhouettes installed so that would be the reason for not seeing those on my site. Regarding the Op Flag title, RYR.bmp is listed for Ryanair so I guess the ICAO 3 digit code will do for missing flags. I do have some missing, Air Tankers Ltd is one on screen just now.

The registration is always displayed even before the call sign is decoded. If there is no registration present, VRS does not display it. Andrew may be put me right on that point but from personal observation this is true.

Are we talking the same thing...? The registration is something like G-CIIV or similar. A call sign is EZY566 or similar. The is also an ICAO24 Hex code for each aircraft which is something like 406830. I guess the registration is derived from the ICAO24 code. Is your basestation.sqb up-to-date? I have Active display updating it in the background.

Sorry, not really definitive but may be some more leads for you to follow...

Jon

Update:

Just had a flight showing with the ICAO24 Hex and call sign and route but no aircraft detail. This is because the basestation.sqb did not have the aircraft detail. A quick check on airframes netted the data and this has been manually added to the database via Active Display.

Jon
http://www.360radar.co.uk, the new name for MLAT Radar in the UK and Western Europe.

Former PP feeder Bm. No longer feeding. I do not have time to sort out imaginary problems with NTP
when it has been working fine for 2+ Years.

paradiselost
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:22 am
Location: Philippines

Re: Registration Edit on Submit Route Page

Post by paradiselost » Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:27 pm

jonfear wrote:John

You have a very high unusable count. I saw this with an old version of dump1090. How are you feeding VRS (What system)?
Jon
The receiver I use is a RadarCape provided by FR24 which is provided to them from Gunter. The output is on port 30334. It has one of the best decoders built-in.

I can feed VRS and or AdsbScope at the same time on the same port. I have two near simultaneous screen shots and the AdsbScope is receiving the Registration whereas the coding in VRS is not interpreting the same raw decoded data.

This is why I suggested being able to manually enter/verify the Registration on the Submit Route page so that this could be a temporary work around. This coding work needs to be done on the List and also on the Reports to pickup the dropped Registration field.
1.jpg
1.jpg (21.27 KiB) Viewed 4804 times
2.jpg
2.jpg (16.81 KiB) Viewed 4804 times
John
Working Example of Version 2 Beta Virtual Radar Server http://dgteflyovers.ddns.net/virtualradar/
VRS 2 Help Files http://dgteflyovers.ddns.net:8080

jonfear
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Wick St Lawrence
Contact:

Re: Registration Edit on Submit Route Page

Post by jonfear » Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:49 pm

Hi John

Yes the RadarCape is a wonderful receiver. I thought the FR24 units had seperate feeding disabled?

Looks like Andrew needs to take a closer look.

He may need a feed to latch onto if possible.

Cheers

Jon
http://www.360radar.co.uk, the new name for MLAT Radar in the UK and Western Europe.

Former PP feeder Bm. No longer feeding. I do not have time to sort out imaginary problems with NTP
when it has been working fine for 2+ Years.

agw
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Registration Edit on Submit Route Page

Post by agw » Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:18 pm

The registration comes from BaseStation.sqb, which is also where the details for the silhouette and operator flag logo come from. If there's no Aircraft record for an aircraft, or if it is only populated with the information transmitted by the aircraft (which does not include the registration or the operator's ICAO code) then you won't see the registration, operator flag or silhouette for the aircraft.

paradiselost
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:22 am
Location: Philippines

Re: Registration Edit on Submit Route Page

Post by paradiselost » Mon Apr 07, 2014 8:24 pm

agw wrote:The registration comes from BaseStation.sqb, which is also where the details for the silhouette and operator flag logo come from. If there's no Aircraft record for an aircraft, or if it is only populated with the information transmitted by the aircraft (which does not include the registration or the operator's ICAO code) then you won't see the registration, operator flag or silhouette for the aircraft.
If you have inside knowledge please share it. Could you also explain how programs like RTL1090 and adsbScope which don't use a database get the registration right with just raw data from the receiver.

For Jon: The FR24 host receivers are not locked but output on port 30334 instead of the more conventional port 30003

For Andrew: The "MAGIC" of silhouettes and OpFlag selection and conversion of .BMP to .PNG seems to hinge on VRS correctly interpreting the raw decoded data to add to the basestation.sqb. The Kinetic basestation.sqb seems to have tables set up in such a way that VRS works. Other newer databases seem to have tables that conflict or do not have compatibility with VRS ie a history table for reports.

If we could manually edit the registration field we could work around this problem without overloading.

John
Working Example of Version 2 Beta Virtual Radar Server http://dgteflyovers.ddns.net/virtualradar/
VRS 2 Help Files http://dgteflyovers.ddns.net:8080

agw
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Registration Edit on Submit Route Page

Post by agw » Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:55 pm

I don't have RTL1090 installed so I can't comment on how it looks up aircraft details, but ADSBScope does use a local database. It has no choice, the registration isn't transmitted by the aircraft. If you take a look in the "extras" folder there are a handful of text files there that contain lookup information between ICAOs and registrations.

The messages transmitted by aircraft do not contain the registration, aircraft model ICAO code or the operator ICAO code. The only identifier they carry is a (hopefully) unique 24-bit number which is assigned to them by the organisation that allocates registrations for the country that the aircraft is registered in. The number is generally called the ICAO or ICAO24 code.

BaseStation.sqb is an SQLite database that was first used by Kinetic's BaseStation program. It contains a bunch of tables but the important one for lookups is the Aircraft table. VRS on its own doesn't write to the database, it opens it in read-only mode. It's only if you install the Database Writer plugin that it'll write to the database, and all it does then is basically create an empty Aircraft record for aircraft that aren't already in there. As things stand at the moment if you want to add information like registrations, operator codes etc. you need to run something else to populate the database with the missing information - e.g. GAS' ADLite (http://www.gatwickaviationsociety.org.uk/ADL_home.asp).

One of the fields in the Aircraft table is the OperatorFlagCode, and its the content of this that determines which operator flag VRS will display. Similarly there's another field, ICAOTypeCode, that holds the ICAO model type code. That code determines which silhouette gets shown. With version 1.x of VRS, and now 2.0.2+, you can name operator flags after the aircraft's ICAO code or registration and it will pick those up and use them for individual aircraft but, that aside, it is the content of those two fields and not the registration that determines which operator flag or silhouette is shown.

What would be nice would be for VRS to make use of some online resource to perform lookups from aircraft ICAO code to operator and model ICAO codes, as well as registrations and everything else. Unfortunately such an online resource doesn't yet exist. It will happen though, and it should hopefully happen some time this year.

Post Reply