More then one basestation option

The "to-do" list for Virtual Radar Server is as long as my arm, but if you want to pile more work onto it then this is for you.
Post Reply
stoyanov
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 8:18 pm

More then one basestation option

Post by stoyanov » Thu Feb 23, 2012 8:35 pm

I think it will be a good idea to have the option to add more then one basestation, as there are people like me who support more then one adsb receiver to cover a greater area. 8-)

agw
Posts: 2249
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: More then one basestation option

Post by agw » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:42 am

I did look at this but it is tricky to merge two BaseStation feeds if the radios are far apart from each other but with overlapping coverage. There isn't enough information on the BaseStation feed to merge two streams of messages from an aircraft into a single feed that has the messages in the same order that they were originally transmitted.

Luckily there are already feed aggregators out there that have solved this problem. You could either sign up to one of the public feed sharing networks such as:

ADSBHub: http://www.adsbhub.net/ or
MMS2: http://radarspotters.eu/forum/index.php ... 443.0.html

or if you aren't interested in seeing other people's feeds, or you just want to keep the aggregated feed private, then I think that you can set up a private MMS network of receivers using the MMS Server from Boris (http://mode-s.66ghz.com/). However I've not tried it so I'm afraid I can't help much with that. The RadarSpotters (http://www.radarspotters.eu/) or Kinetic (http://www.kinetic-avionics.com/forums/) forums would probably be a good place to ask about setting up a private MMS server.

Regardless, once you have the merged feed working you can point Virtual Radar Server to it and it should work as per usual.

stoyanov
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 8:18 pm

Re: More then one basestation option

Post by stoyanov » Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:48 am

Thanks. I will try the software that you suggested, untill now I was using adsbcope software to merge the data but I have 2 types of receivers and it gets a bit tricky using it with both.

graeme61
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:55 am

Re: More then one basestation option

Post by graeme61 » Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:16 am

Hi Andrew

If you go to Radarspotting.com this will update you on the mms2 server situation.
With mms2 the user can see other aircraft from around europe and other parts of the world.
This has the added bonus of been able to enhance the power of the virtualradar system.

As you know i have been using your software for along time now and has become part of my permament setup which has the powerful use of historic data lookup and other features which compliment the radar system.

Regards
Graeme

gariac
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:25 am

Re: More then one basestation option

Post by gariac » Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:12 am

I guess I don't understand the question. Why can't you put the different receivers on different ports, then let VRS display both of them.

agw
Posts: 2249
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: More then one basestation option

Post by agw » Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:38 pm

I think this thread dates back to when VRS only supported a single receiver :)

Post Reply