Database Writer Military

Are you having problems with using or developing a plugin? Let me know here.
antonov124
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:21 am

Database Writer Military

Postby antonov124 » Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:24 am

Is it posibble to filter the BaseStation.sqb for Military flag?
At the moment i edit manual with "SqliteBrowser" some military Aircraft, Filter: Owner "force" .

agw
Posts: 1870
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Database Writer Military

Postby agw » Sat Dec 31, 2016 1:10 am

I'm afraid not, there isn't a field in BaseStation.sqb's Aircraft record for military / civilian status.

mmcgee
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 4:41 pm

Re: Database Writer Military

Postby mmcgee » Sat Jan 07, 2017 9:07 pm

PlaneBase uses 'M' in UserString4 to indicate Military. I don't think PlanePlotter does anything with that field, and I don't know what other programs do (personally I think it should be one of the UserBool fields for Mil/Civ, but I go with whatever's out there). Be aware that if you were to use that field, it could easily be messed up by other programs since it's not a db field and various programs make use of the User fields differently (or may ignore/overwrite them even if they don't use them).

That does bring up a good point though... When setting up a VRS filter, there is a choice for Military - what is the criteria that it uses? (I was thinking of trying to edit it to fix the US Mil code range but couldn't figure out where the data is being held...)

antonov124
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:21 am

Re: Database Writer Military

Postby antonov124 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:05 pm

hi, thats not good to hear ;/

i need an solution to find out which of my flights in the basestation.sqb entrys are military.

agw
Posts: 1870
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Database Writer Military

Postby agw » Sat Jan 14, 2017 3:07 pm

The military filter is using the aircraft's ICAO. It looks it up against the code blocks for country registrations and figures out from there whether it's civil or military. You can add local overrides for the code blocks lookup but it's only really suitable for a small number of overrides, you can't specify ranges with it:

http://www.virtualradarserver.co.uk/FlightRoutes.aspx, scroll down to "CodeBlock Overrides".

Eventually the SDM site will let you submit changes to the master code block records in the same way that you can submit changes to routes, airports and airlines.

antonov124
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:21 am

Re: Database Writer Military

Postby antonov124 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 1:49 pm

thx ;/

Commander
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 12:17 pm

Re: Database Writer Military

Postby Commander » Fri Feb 24, 2017 12:24 pm

Hello!

I am new in this area, and I have tried to read and understand the technology behind the VRS.
My problem is that I can not change individual aircraft from civilian to military.

I have Followed instructions in the Code Block Overrides here: http://www.virtualradarserver.co.uk/FlightRoutes.aspx
... But it will not work for me.
I have created a .txt file is named correctly and with the content as instructed.
But the VRS would not buy change.

I have restarted the VRS and I've waited more than a day, but without success.

Can someone help me with tips on how to succeed?
Thanks in advance!

agw
Posts: 1870
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Database Writer Military

Postby agw » Sun Feb 26, 2017 7:21 pm

Check first that you've called it by the right name (LocalAircraft.txt) and that you have put the file into the correct folder (run VRS, click Help | About and then click the link along the bottom of the window for the configuration folder - put LocalAircraft.txt into that folder).

If that's still not working then send the file to me and I'll take a look.


Return to “Plugins”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest