Page 1 of 1

Leaflet Weather Overlay

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:48 am
by bluealien11
I am playing with trying to get a weather overlay on the Leaflet map. From what I have read, it seems doable and I was curious if anyone in here has done it, and if so how?

I saw some older posts about implementing radar and satellite imagery on the map, but did not see any explanations on how to do so.

Thanks!

Re: Leaflet Weather Overlay

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 5:16 pm
by thebaldgeek
I upgraded yesterday and found my weather overlay disabled, so would like to add a 'Me Too' to this thread.

If anyone has any information on how to restore this function, many of us would be very grateful.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Leaflet Weather Overlay

Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 7:40 am
by nitro999
I have just published some code for weather, ATC airspace, and other overlays for Leaflet here:

viewtopic.php?f=9&p=7883#p7883

Re: Leaflet Weather Overlay

Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 7:56 pm
by bluealien11
Very slick! Thank You!

I have everything showing up, except weather. The airspace and everything pulls up just fine. Is there another step?

Re: Leaflet Weather Overlay

Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:00 pm
by nitro999
For weather you need to register for an API key on Aerisweather and then insert your API key into the code at the marked point

Re: Leaflet Weather Overlay

Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:03 pm
by bluealien11
Just saw that. Great. Works like a charm! Thank you!

Re: Leaflet Weather Overlay

Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:15 pm
by RickBoatright
I've modified Nitro99's code to use the free nexrad leaflet tile server at U of IA... see this post viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1859

Re: Leaflet Weather Overlay

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:52 pm
by MikeNYC
Hi, thanks for the great bit of code!

Is there any easy way to implement a function to refresh the weather in regular intervals (1-5 minutes)? I can toggle the layer off then on manually to refresh, but in my install I'm setting it up as a view-only kiosk and would like to have updated weather.

Perhaps there's a bit of JS that can disable and re-enable the layer, based on a timer?