Page 1 of 1

US based weather layer using Custom Content - WORKING

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:08 am
by RickBoatright
I have a working US weather and cloud layer using the Custom Content plugin available at
https://github.com/BoatrightTBC/vrs-overlays

It's derived from, but different than Nitro99's UK overlay. Please try downloading and installing it, and let me know if you have a problem.

Here's a screenshot from this afternoon:

Image

Rick

Re: US based weather layer using Custom Content - WORKING

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:59 pm
by nitro999
Nice work! :)

Re: US based weather layer using Custom Content - WORKING

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:54 pm
by RickBoatright
Thanks. I couldn't have done it without yours.

For anyone else, please note that the Sat cloud layer from NASA is the most-recent available, and so may not (yet) have flown over your part of the world today.

I plan to add the geostationary images that are "mostly full hemisphere" at some point, in my ample spare time.

Re: US based weather layer using Custom Content - WORKING

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 10:36 pm
by RickBoatright
Updated to include the GOES composit visible and IR north american images AND a new overlay transparency slider control.

Re: US based weather layer using Custom Content - WORKING

Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2019 10:42 pm
by bmh
I've been using VRS for quite a while and never had the need to register on this forum until today. I did so to give you a HUGE thank you for this plugin. It's working great!

Edit: Having some issues now though.It was working fine for a couple of hours and then the screen turned black. Restarted PC and VRS and I now can't get the clouds back, just the same black screen.

Image

Image

Re: US based weather layer using Custom Content - WORKING

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:09 pm
by g_r
I got it to work. Thanks for your work on this!

Re: US based weather layer using Custom Content - WORKING

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:18 pm
by g_r
Two questions: How do I turn a layer on by default, i.e. if I always want the nexrad overlay? Also, does the overlay update on its own (as the rain moves and the radar image changes), or do I need to refresh the VRS page to get it to update, or?

Thanks again.

Re: US based weather layer using Custom Content - WORKING

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 5:39 pm
by bmh
I gave up on this for over a month since I never got a reply to my black screen problem. I tried it again and it's still there. Everything works fine for a couple of hours and then just a black screen.