Command line without X

Bug reports and questions about running Virtual Radar Server on Linux
ertyu
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 8:30 pm

Command line without X

Post by ertyu » Fri Nov 14, 2014 8:34 pm

Is it possible to run without X just as a command line version?

agw
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Command line without X

Post by agw » Fri Nov 21, 2014 2:29 pm

No, not at the moment. However it's definitely on the list, Mono's WinForms implementation causes headaches every time I do anything with the GUI and it needs to go away.

ertyu
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 8:30 pm

Re: Command line without X

Post by ertyu » Fri Nov 21, 2014 3:21 pm

Be great to have that. Even if I have to configure it on Windows and transfer a configuration over to unix for the time being.

gariac
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:25 am

Re: Command line without X

Post by gariac » Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:43 am

http://forum.virtualradarserver.co.uk/v ... ?f=7&t=448

If your intent is to set up VRS on a system that doesn't have X but you do have access to a system with X, then the link above will be useful.

If you are SSHing into a computer that you are trying to set up VRS, you can use an option of SSH that allows X.
http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/linux-unix ... -over-ssh/

All that said, I await VRS that doesn't have all those forms. I don't mind editing config files.

BTW, Microsoft claims to be opensourcing .net, so in theory mono will somebody be more compatible. Well at least there is hope.

agw
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Command line without X

Post by agw » Mon Dec 15, 2014 12:05 am

I've implemented the basics of a headless option for VRS. You can give this a try if you like by downloading it from here:

http://www.virtualradarserver.co.uk/fil ... dar.tar.gz

Use the -nogui switch to run it headless. It's not 100% no GUI, it writes output to the console.

jonfear
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Wick St Lawrence
Contact:

Re: Command line without X

Post by jonfear » Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:55 am

Andrew

Will the headless web based solution be available for Windows as well?

Jon
http://www.360radar.co.uk, the new name for MLAT Radar in the UK and Western Europe.

Former PP feeder Bm. No longer feeding. I do not have time to sort out imaginary problems with NTP
when it has been working fine for 2+ Years.

agw
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Command line without X

Post by agw » Tue Dec 16, 2014 12:26 am

Yes. At the moment it starts up a new console window under Windows, rather than using the current console as it does under Linux / OSX, but otherwise it's the same.

ertyu
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 8:30 pm

Re: Command line without X

Post by ertyu » Mon Dec 29, 2014 6:37 pm

Seems to work just peachy. Installed mono on my FreeBSD system and everything seems like it's working. I copied over my config from Windows and it somewhat worked, planes were tracking on the map. I'll have to playing with the configuration to get everything going.

ertyu
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 8:30 pm

Re: Command line without X

Post by ertyu » Mon Dec 29, 2014 8:54 pm

How are the OperatorFlagsFolder paths and similar stored in Configuration.xml, full system path?

I've copied over my directories from where it was working on Windows, but I'm getting nothing but broken images.

I'm also missing the plane icon images on the map itself.

There appear to be corresponding gdi exceptions showing up for each image.

agw
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Command line without X

Post by agw » Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:43 am

The folder paths are all full system paths. They need to be valid for the operating system, so on Linux they'll be case sensitive.

Regarding the exceptions with gdiplus - which Linux are you using? Also, which version of Mono? If you're running under OSX then the current version of Mono has a problem with gdiplus, you may need to regress to a version 2 Mono until they get it sorted out (http://www.mono-project.com/docs/about- ... es/3.10.0/ - the bit where they say "System.Drawing.Bitmap, and font for example are affected" is bad news for VRS).

Post Reply