Eurowings Routes

Having a problem with the routes site, or want to report a missing airline or airport? This is the place for you.
Post Reply
borchi
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:07 pm
Contact:

Eurowings Routes

Post by borchi » Fri Jan 05, 2018 4:12 pm

Hallo,

i tried to edit some Eurowings Routes. I receive flights with callsign EWG014 for example. The sdm route batch saves the route without '0' as EWG14.

It´s a bug or a feature?
Christian

Image

borchi
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Eurowings Routes

Post by borchi » Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:28 pm

Hi, it´s me again... How do pilots need to enter the route into the FMC? With or without trailing zeros?
Christian

Image

Datamix
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:36 pm

Re: Eurowings Routes

Post by Datamix » Sun Jan 07, 2018 11:25 am

As far is I know they use the IATA-Code in ACARS and FMC. In this case "EW0126" instead of the ICAO-Code "EWG126" used in ADS-B messages.
VRS: v3 (24-JUN-2018)

egpd1701
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:39 pm

Re: Eurowings Routes

Post by egpd1701 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 11:50 am

HI

It would be good if the batch inputer did not strip the leading zeros off of the routes.

borchi
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Eurowings Routes

Post by borchi » Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:23 pm

Yes, would be nice...
Christian

Image

agw
Posts: 2098
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Eurowings Routes

Post by agw » Sat Jan 20, 2018 1:10 am

The problem is that pilots enter random leading zeros on flight numbers. Sometimes you'll get BAW1, sometimes BAW01, BAW001 and so on. In the old days VRS thought that BAW1, BAW01 and BAW001 were all different callsigns and would accept routes for all three... they would be updated independently of each other when the route changed, sometimes you'd see the right route, sometimes an old one... it was a pain in the backside.

So. The rule is that leading zeros are stripped off callsigns when submitting routes and they are stripped off callsigns when routes are looked up. The route is stored against BAW1 and regardless of whether the flight's callsign is BAW1, BAW01, BAW001 etc. the code will search for the route against BAW1.

Regarding IATA codes - VRS can usually tell whether the callsign is using an IATA code instead of an ICAO code. If it sees that there is an unambiguous ICAO code that it can use instead of the IATA code then it'll use that in route lookups, although it will also lookup using the IATA code. Similarly if you enter a route for an IATA callsign that can be unambiguously translated into an ICAO code then the site switches it to the ICAO code.

If you want to see the callsigns that VRS will try when it's searching for routes then you can look them up in https://sdm.virtualradarserver.co.uk/Route/History. The results that come back show the entries that VRS will search for and the order in which it will search for them.

borchi
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Eurowings Routes

Post by borchi » Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:51 pm

Hallo agw,

thanks for the explanation!

Christian
Christian

Image

Post Reply