Using different map

Want to post something that doesn't quite fit into the other forums? This is the place for that.
Post Reply
Radio Active
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:14 am
Contact:

Using different map

Post by Radio Active » Tue Aug 02, 2016 10:12 am

I'm picking minds here, I wish to use map back ground from a different source, Does a script need to be written or is there something in a setting that I've missed.
The map source I wish to use is Open Street Map www.openstreetmap.org
If it a simple change great, if it is a script I'm stuffed (beyond my ability) feed back appreciated.

Gary.

agw
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:20 am

Re: Using different map

Post by agw » Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:32 am

It's a lot of scripting :) The site doesn't use Google Maps directly, it uses a wrapper instead, so all you would need to do is write a new wrapper for your alternate map source. However, the map wrapper is enormous.

With OSM you need to provide your own tile server, which might complicate things a bit.

Radio Active
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:14 am
Contact:

Re: Using different map

Post by Radio Active » Sat Aug 06, 2016 12:13 pm

OK, cheers for that, some thing that is outside of my abilities. all good.

Post Reply