Newbie question about routes

Want to post something that doesn't quite fit into the other forums? This is the place for that.
Post Reply
sashimi3
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 5:53 pm
Location: United States

Newbie question about routes

Post by sashimi3 » Sat Oct 25, 2014 5:51 am

Does VR Server pull down updated routes data from the latest acars and user updated data? Or do I need to download updated routes file and install them somewhere. I am in the San Francisco bay area and often see route mistakes with flights detected.

Thanks
d

CharlieAlpha
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 6:41 pm

Re: Newbie question about routes

Post by CharlieAlpha » Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:01 pm

VRS should automatically update its routes database when you run it connected to the internet.

You can force it download data using the "Download Data..." command on the "Tools" menu of the server component. I think the database only updated/published once a day and even then there may not be any new routes added - it depends on Andrew processing the submitted batches of user added routes (not sure if / how ACARS data is added).

Charlie

sashimi3
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 5:53 pm
Location: United States

Re: Newbie question about routes

Post by sashimi3 » Sun Oct 26, 2014 4:44 am

Thanks

I think sometimes when flights have multiple segments or airlines repurposing flight numbers for different routes confuses vrs

d

Post Reply