Anyone Using VRS To Feed FlightAware?

Want to post something that doesn't quite fit into the other forums? This is the place for that.
Post Reply
Me109
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:54 pm
Location: KORH

Anyone Using VRS To Feed FlightAware?

Post by Me109 »

Has anyone configured VRS to feed FlightAware? I created a rebroadcast server in Basestation format and pointed it to the IP and port identified here, but I'm not sure whether I'm actually sending anything usable. VRS reports data outbound and no discards.

Thanks,
Bryan
avioradar
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:47 am

Re: Anyone Using VRS To Feed FlightAware?

Post by avioradar »

you need planeplotter to feed FA
jonfear
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Wick St Lawrence
Contact:

Re: Anyone Using VRS To Feed FlightAware?

Post by jonfear »

You can request a stand alone app to feed flight aware. FA has one but does not advertise it. I used it in preference to using Planeplotter.

HTH

Jon
http://www.360radar.co.uk, the new name for MLAT Radar in the UK and Western Europe.

Former PP feeder Bm. No longer feeding. I do not have time to sort out imaginary problems with NTP
when it has been working fine for 2+ Years.
Me109
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:54 pm
Location: KORH

Re: Anyone Using VRS To Feed FlightAware?

Post by Me109 »

Thanks guys, that helps.

I understand FA offers the PiAware application which I could run on my Raspberry Pi (is that the one you referred to Jon?), but I wanted to keep the Pi as lightweight as possible running only dump1090. There is Planeplotter, but I am already running VRS on a home server for both personal use and to feed VRS World, so to me running Planeplotter is redundant in providing a plotting application, simply to feed FA.

Flightradar24 is another one I used to feed, but again I asked myself why each consumer requires a unique client application, so I stopped. Maybe that's just the nature of the hobby? :)

Bryan
jonfear
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Wick St Lawrence
Contact:

Re: Anyone Using VRS To Feed FlightAware?

Post by jonfear »

Hi Bryan

There is a Windows App that FA provide or certainly did used to. Drop them an email.

Jon
http://www.360radar.co.uk, the new name for MLAT Radar in the UK and Western Europe.

Former PP feeder Bm. No longer feeding. I do not have time to sort out imaginary problems with NTP
when it has been working fine for 2+ Years.
Me109
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:54 pm
Location: KORH

Re: Anyone Using VRS To Feed FlightAware?

Post by Me109 »

I decided to go the PiAware route...no visible delays in processing data, i didn't even see a hiccup during the install, so everything is good.

Thanks again.
w7psk
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 3:44 pm
Location: Everett, Washington

Re: Anyone Using VRS To Feed FlightAware?

Post by w7psk »

Anyone know about what they use for WIN and how to get it. I dumped PP after the latest fiasco and they wanted me to once again jump
through hoops to feed data I was asked to volunteer to feed (I feed a MLAT hole they had).

I like feeding to FA though. (Not Flight Radar 24)
jonfear
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Wick St Lawrence
Contact:

Re: Anyone Using VRS To Feed FlightAware?

Post by jonfear »

Hi w7psk

AFAIK there is no Windows offering for FA. I thought there was a standalone client but was wrong. The only way to do it without PP is via their version of dump1090.

Personally I feed the Planefinder and FR24 commercial sites and of course VRS World. How much longer for FR24 is a matter of debate.

It would appear that the PP server is down again this morning...

Best wishes

Jon
http://www.360radar.co.uk, the new name for MLAT Radar in the UK and Western Europe.

Former PP feeder Bm. No longer feeding. I do not have time to sort out imaginary problems with NTP
when it has been working fine for 2+ Years.
Post Reply