Antenna Ranges

Want to post something that doesn't quite fit into the other forums? This is the place for that.
Post Reply
MarkRennie
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:51 pm

Antenna Ranges

Post by MarkRennie » Thu Aug 13, 2015 12:05 pm

Hello.
I finally last week got round to creating my own 12 Element collinear antenna and replaced the one I bought from a guy in Slovakia.
"Antenna 5/8 great coverage ads-b flightradar 24 1090mhz high gain"

To my surprise the collinear is producing a worse range, see attached. Each ring is 20nm. The outer range is from my Slovak antenna and the inner range is the collinear.

Is there anything I can do to increase my range? The antenna is on top of my chimney on a 6ft pole. Fairly clear view all round and I can see plans on the ground at my local airport.

Cheers
Mark
Image

jonfear
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:15 pm
Location: Wick St Lawrence
Contact:

Re: Antenna Ranges

Post by jonfear » Thu Aug 13, 2015 12:24 pm

Mark

Do you have the gain set to -10? Otherwise it is amplifier time!

Jon
http://www.360radar.co.uk, the new name for MLAT Radar in the UK and Western Europe.

Former PP feeder Bm. No longer feeding. I do not have time to sort out imaginary problems with NTP
when it has been working fine for 2+ Years.

MarkRennie
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:51 pm

Re: Antenna Ranges

Post by MarkRennie » Thu Aug 13, 2015 12:34 pm

Hi Jon,

I don't have an amplifier and didn't think I needed to set the gain -10 unless I had one. Let me set it and test, thanks!

cheers
Mark

MarkRennie
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:51 pm

Re: Antenna Ranges

Post by MarkRennie » Thu Aug 13, 2015 12:42 pm

just checked my mlat-client startup file and I have this, so I guess it is being set..
# receiver:
NICELEVEL="--nicelevel -5"
case "x$DEVICE" in
x|x0) ARGS="$ARGS --net" ;;
xnone) ARGS="$ARGS --net-only"; NICELEVEL="" ;;
*) ARGS="$ARGS --net --device-index $DEVICE" ;;
esac
case "x$GAIN" in
x|xmax) ;;
xagc) ARGS="$ARGS --gain -10" ;;

MarkRennie
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:51 pm

Re: Antenna Ranges

Post by MarkRennie » Thu Aug 13, 2015 12:56 pm

just incase I re-ran the config and set the arg to --gain -10, lets wait I guess :)

Post Reply