PlaneAlerter 2.0

Want to post something that doesn't quite fit into the other forums? This is the place for that.
VE2ZPS
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 12:48 am
Location: Quebec

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by VE2ZPS » Thu May 31, 2018 3:18 am

Hi,

This is exactly the application have been looking for; thank you so so much !!!

I have downloaded the 2.0.3. version; prorammed a dozen of conditions and it worked rather well yesterday.
Today, the application is freezing (with a pop-up that it must close) as soon as a condition is met or after 30 seconds of running time.

I have tried again with brand new V2.0.3 but the problem is still there.

I look forward using it especially with the G7 soon in Quebec

What should i do to fix it please,

Thank you

Dom2364
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:01 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by Dom2364 » Mon Jun 04, 2018 9:56 am

Sorry about the delay, been working on a lot of other projects. I've written down all of the things to fix, going to try and deal with them soon. I have a public trello board if you want to keep track of progress: https://trello.com/b/LT6Z8tPy/planealerter
I write software and take photos.
AussieADSB
Full Throttle Photography

VA2DG
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 5:10 am
Location: Montreal,QC
Contact:

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0.3 crash

Post by VA2DG » Mon Jun 04, 2018 11:16 pm

Hi Dom

problem we have is the following we start the PlaneAlerter and after a couple scan we get some aircraft report like RCMP place and any Military within a radiun of 500km then once we receive the email after a couple scan we get a red line with the following

ERROR: Error while connecting to AircraftList.json (The operation has timed out)

We have to close and start again.. very annoying. I have sarted with 2.0.3 then i dowloaded older version like 2.0.2, 2.0.1 and 2.0.0 and use the same condition and setting file on all version and still get that red line after a couple scan

Cant upload an imageImage
---------
Daniel
VA2DG

darrylcn
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:12 pm

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by darrylcn » Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:13 am

Hmm, do you have a file path listed in your settings for the AircraftList.json URL? It should be something along the lines of this:

http://127.0.0.1/VirtualRadar/AircraftList.json

Presumably you have VRS installed and running so that path is vaid too.

VA2DG
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 5:10 am
Location: Montreal,QC
Contact:

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by VA2DG » Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:23 am

Yup i do have one, not local one but i do.

Image

It work for some time but after i received a couple plane i get the red message.
---------
Daniel
VA2DG

Dom2364
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:01 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by Dom2364 » Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:19 am

Seems to be timing out because of the size of adsbexhchange's aircraftlist.json file, I'll add an option to manually set the timeout length in the settings. On my internet (45Mbps) their aircraftlist.json takes 11 seconds to download, I think the default timeout is 10 seconds.
I write software and take photos.
AussieADSB
Full Throttle Photography

VA2DG
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 5:10 am
Location: Montreal,QC
Contact:

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by VA2DG » Tue Jun 05, 2018 10:46 am

Hi Dom
Thanks for quick reply.
That make sence the timeout as the list of aircrafts is quite long.

How quick can you add that option?
We have a big event this weekend the G7 summit and we want to monitor all military and security aircraft going around the area
Keep up the good work as the Scanningteam is appreciating the application.
We are waiting for the fix

Again thank you
---------
Daniel
VA2DG

VA2DG
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 5:10 am
Location: Montreal,QC
Contact:

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by VA2DG » Tue Jun 05, 2018 11:17 am

I just did time how long to download and it took 17,83 seconds for about 6272 aircraft, and i got a 20meg download.
---------
Daniel
VA2DG

VE2ZPS
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 12:48 am
Location: Quebec

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by VE2ZPS » Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:57 pm

Hi Dom,

Thank you so much for the development of this application furthermore for your prompt assistance with our problem.
Daniel (VA2DG) and I are from the same Ham Radio / Scanningteam and we simply LOVE your application.
(if we put aside the problem we are experiencing)

As mentionned previously, we are hours away for the G7 Summit in Quebec and we hope so much that you can provide a fix in time.

Very sincerely,

Pierre
VE2ZPS/VE2BN

Dom2364
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:01 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by Dom2364 » Wed Jun 06, 2018 5:18 am

Just put up a new version, github release page and download is here: https://github.com/Dom2364/PlaneAlerter/releases/latest
Also from now on you won't need to redo all of your settings when you update, all you need to do is replace PlaneAlerter.exe and all of your conditions/settings will be transferred.

Changelog:
Added manual timeout option in settings
Settings will use default value if not found in settings.json (Won't crash when updating versions now)
Added edit button to conditions editor, removed double click to edit
Condition editor is now resizable
Check will cancel if no aircraft are found
I write software and take photos.
AussieADSB
Full Throttle Photography

Post Reply