PlaneAlerter 2.0

Want to post something that doesn't quite fit into the other forums? This is the place for that.
Post Reply
ryanbytes
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2016 8:41 pm

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by ryanbytes » Wed Nov 23, 2016 8:43 pm

If this is something obvious please forgive me. Is there a way to monitor a range of registration numbers and alert if one is detected in one condition entry?

Dom2364
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:01 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by Dom2364 » Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:33 pm

You can add a range by using the 'Starts With' comparison type. So if you wanted all australian aircraft you would use 'VH-' as the value. For VH-VFA - VH-VFZ you can use 'VH-VF' as the value. There is no way to alert for specific ranges like VH-VFA - VH-VFC though.
I write software and take photos.
AussieADSB
Full Throttle Photography

ryanbytes
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2016 8:41 pm

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by ryanbytes » Thu Nov 24, 2016 5:42 am

Beautiful! Thanks! I have all my conditions entered but the program crashes after a while. I'd say maybe an hour after it starts up. Is there a logfile created to see what's up?

Dom2364
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:01 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by Dom2364 » Thu Nov 24, 2016 11:24 am

There is no logfile to record crashes as it can't really log things if it's crashed. Windows event viewer however does store crash information. If you search 'Event Viewer', open it, then on the left sidebar under Custom Views, select Administrative Events. Scroll down until you see an entry with the source '.NET Runtime', select it, then send me a pm with everything in the text box at the bottom of the screen. The text box should say something like 'Application: PlaneAlerter.exe Framework Version: v4.0.30319' then exception information.
I write software and take photos.
AussieADSB
Full Throttle Photography

Mac
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:49 am

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by Mac » Thu Nov 24, 2016 6:48 pm

Hi Dom2364

Were you able to increase the max timeout for alerts from 600 to 3600 on latest update?

Thanks

Mac

Dom2364
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:01 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by Dom2364 » Fri Nov 25, 2016 12:32 am

Not this update, but it's on the list for next update.
I write software and take photos.
AussieADSB
Full Throttle Photography

Mac
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:49 am

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by Mac » Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:45 am

Great stuff ! :)

Mista Uzi
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 4:10 am

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by Mista Uzi » Sat Nov 26, 2016 4:27 am

Hi

Just downloaded the newest V2.0.

Having an issue with the emailing of alerts.

As soon as an alert triggers, I get an error message that PlaneAlerter has stopped working, then closes the program without sending the email

Have an older version of V2.0 and moved that to an .old folder and tested with that and works fine.

Running under Win10 64 and not using gmail

Any thoughts?

Thanks

Mista Uzi
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 4:10 am

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by Mista Uzi » Sat Nov 26, 2016 5:32 am

Just an update

Have tried on a remote PC in the UK running the same configuration.

Exactly the same issues with that PC

Is it just me??

Thanks

Dom2364
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:01 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: PlaneAlerter 2.0

Post by Dom2364 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 6:57 am

Hi Mista Uzi,

Can you pm me with the crash information? Should be able to get it by following these instructions:
Dom2364 wrote: If you search 'Event Viewer', open it, then on the left sidebar under Custom Views, select Administrative Events. Scroll down until you see an entry with the source '.NET Runtime', select it, then send me a pm with everything in the text box at the bottom of the screen. The text box should say something like 'Application: PlaneAlerter.exe Framework Version: v4.0.30319' then exception information.
From the looks of it it seems to be something in your config. If you could pm the contents of settings.json that would be great. Make sure to remove your login information though.
I write software and take photos.
AussieADSB
Full Throttle Photography

Post Reply