SDRsharp with Virual Radar

Are you having trouble getting Virtual Radar Server installed and running? If so then this is the place to ask about it.
DerekHenderson
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:49 am

SDRsharp with Virual Radar

Postby DerekHenderson » Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:57 am

Hi to all just new SDR I have SDR# and Virtual Radar up and running on my Win10 laptop
Can someone explain to me how to "interface" the two to show aircraft
I have seen the ADS B scope app within the SDR# download folder but need help on
Configuration

Rgds DerekHenderson

evangelyul
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 4:03 am

Re: SDRsharp with Virual Radar

Postby evangelyul » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:04 am

hi
what sdr equipment you use ? usb dongle or something else ?

DerekHenderson
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:49 am

Re: SDRsharp with Virual Radar

Postby DerekHenderson » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:36 am

Hi I am using a NSDR smart dongle by noolec It is set up withe Zadig drivers etc and works ok
Just cannot figure out how to connect the SDR# side to the VRS side

If I plug it into my old XP desktop it works fine with the Planeplotter and the rtl1090 decoder
From Jetvision.de

Thanks Derek Henderson

evangelyul
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 4:03 am

Re: SDRsharp with Virual Radar

Postby evangelyul » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:29 pm

hi
first of all you must have a decoder running (listening) to the output from the dongle. ( SDR# is not for this purpose )
try dump1090 by Malcolm Robb https://github.com/MalcolmRobb/dump1090
or mutability https://github.com/mutability/dump1090
the only thing i would change in the dump1090 settings will be gain ( not -10 but 43.9
avoids overloading the dongle).
with the default settings dump1090 provides beast format output on 30005.
in VRS -> Tools -> Options -> Locations add your location coordinates and rename location to 'Home'.
in VRS -> Tools -> Options -> Receivers press the green plus sign (+) to add a new receiver with following settings:
Format : AVR or Beast Raw Feed
Location : Home
Connection type : Network
Address : 127.0.0.1 or your local IP 192.168.1.nnn (basically the dongle IP)
Port: 30005
un-click the checkbox 'Send keep-alive packets'
now press the button (top right) 'Test Connection' . if all is OK you ll get a message saying : 'A connection can be made with these settings' (means dongle data received 30005)
in your browser enter http://127.0.0.1:8080/VirtualRadar and if your antenna/dongle is receiving anything, it will be displayed by VRS.
now, cause win10 sucks, you may run into security/admin issues where i cant help you. this why i still use win7.

HTH and good luck

DerekHenderson
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:49 am

Re: SDRsharp with Virual Radar

Postby DerekHenderson » Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:45 am

Thanks for the information will go ahead and give it a try Yes Win 10 is a bit iffy
I still like the old XP myself !

Many Thanks Derek Henderson


Return to “Installation Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 0 guests